Common Councilmen

The Court of Common Council is the City of London’s primary decision-making body, and meets nine times a year.  It works through committees, like many other local authorities, but is unique in that it is non-party political.  Its main business focuses on the reports of committees, motions and members’ questions. 

There are 100 Common Councilmen and 25 Aldermen representing the 25 Wards of the City of London.  Each Ward elects between two and ten Common Councilmen, depending on the size of the electorate.   Two of our Liverymen – Jamie Ingham Clark, Deputy (Billingsgate), and Dhruv Patel (Aldgate) – are Common Councilmen. 

The Common Councilmen are elected every four years or as a vacancy arises owing to retirement, incapacity or death.  Candidates must be 21 or over, a British, Commonwealth or European Union citizen and a Freeman of the City of London.  They must also be registered to vote on the City of London Ward Lists; or own freehold or leasehold property in the City; or have for twelve months prior to the nomination date and until the date of election have lived in the City.  

The Common Councilmen wear robes of mazarine blue at the first Council meeting after the installation of the Lord Mayor, and on other special occasions.